Meet our Staff and Student Award Winners

12 March 2020

Each year, our Staff and Student Awards recognise the successes and incredible transformations of those we’ve have the pleasure of working with over the last 12 months.

At our third annual ceremony, hosted by Terry Baxter on Tuesday 10th March, we shared stories of resilience, determination and professionalism that we’re proud to have been a part of.

Our CEO, Terry Baxter, said “The event is unashamedly about celebrating success. The nominations highlight the ambitious team we have, as well as the outstanding progression of the young people on our programmes.”

We believe everyone should have access to the education and experiences they need to shape their own futures,  which is why we’re at the forefront of helping young people overcome challenges. Our award winners have all had incredible journeys, professionally and personally, and we hope they ‘inspire’ you!

Here’s a look at the winners of this year’s awards:

Inspirational Young Person 2020: Luke Chambers

Luke was born with a 5% chance to live due to a heart condition. He has lived life dealing with his cerebral palsy, dyslexia and having limited opportunities.

These restrictions affected his mental health as all he’d ever wanted was to be treated the same as everyone else. Luke joined the Inspire Team Programme solely to make friends and be treated as an equal.

During his time with Inspire, Luke became the most respected member of the team and formed lasting friendships. He has since developed the confidence to find a job and is now employed at his local Tesco store.


Student Award Winners

Outstanding Achievement: Callum Haggart

Before Team, Callum had dropped out of school and was taking drugs. He ended up in hospital and realised he had to make a change. Callum is now working while completing a Level 3 qualification at Colchester Institute.

Sponsor: EDF Energy Sizewell C
Nominees: Charlie Dilley, Daniel Herring

Community Engagement: Thetford Team 2

The Thetford Team worked tirelessly to transform a wasteland into a nature walk for the Charles Burrell Centre. This legacy will allow the children to enjoy the outside space and learn about the importance of preserving the environment.

Sponsor: Leiston-cum-Sizewell Town Council
Nominees: Lowestoft Team 25, NCS Summer Wave 2

Apprentice of the Year: George Hammond

George’s pride and passion for his role shine through in his Saturday Morning Junior Coaching and DS Active Sessions. He is eager to learn and the first person to lend a helping hand.

Sponsor: Suffolk new College
Nominees: Cameron Overett, Kaitlin Constance

Young Person of the Year: Cole Guy

When he originally signed up for Team, Cole couldn’t do everyday things, such as use public transport. Eventually he pushed past the negativity and secured an Apprenticeship at Suffolk County Council.

Sponsor: Councillor Gordon Jones, Suffolk County Council
Nominees: Stephen Allmond, Anto Andrade, Tommy Parr, Libby Eyers


Staff Award Winners

The Rising Star: Chloe Foster

Since completing her Apprenticeship, Chloe has shown enthusiasm for progressing her career. She has transitioned from a trainee to a mentor and is a source of support for new members of staff.

Sponsor: Tom Hunt, Conservative MP for Ipswich
Nominees: Naomi Thompson and Emily Carter

Team of the Year: Colville House

The transformation that Paul and the team have made to Colville House is incredible. It is now a space for young people to learn and for the community to come together.

Sponsor: Citrus Security Shredding
Nominees: Finance Team and Sports Team

Excellence in Teaching or Coaching: Ashleigh Hurrell

Through her work on the Achieve Programme, Ashleigh helps even the most disengaged students feel motivated and excited to learn.

Sponsor: Opus People Solutions
Nominees: Adam Todd, Peter Robinson

The Extra Mile: Sara Warburton

Sara is whole-heartedly dedicated to her role as Events and Fundraising Officer. Sara is passionatee about the charity, shares the same values and takes pride in her work.

Sponsor: Hemisphere Freight Services
Nominees: Ashleigh Hurrell, George Ketteringham

Employee of the Year: Neil Fox

Neil’s passion lies with teaching and he is always willing to lend a helping hand, no matter how busy he might be. He is patient, kind and of exceptional calibre as a Lead Tutor.

Nominee: Lisa Ray

External Fundraiser Awards

– Emma’s Florist
– Opus
– Simon Jay
– Ipswich School of Dancing
– Three Peaks Team
– Hemisphere Freight
– Jack Reddington
– Carl Collins